School Board Meetings

Meeting Schedule 2019–20


Meeting Date Meeting Type
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
5 p.m.
Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session)
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5 p.m. Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session)
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5 p.m. Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) - Tentative
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 5 p.m. Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) - Tentative
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 5 p.m. Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) CANCELED
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 5 p.m. Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) - CANCELED 
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 5 p.m.  Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session)  CANCELED
Wednesday, September 4, 2019  School Board Meeting
Wednesday, September 18, 2019  School Board Meeting 
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session)CANCELED
Monday, September 30, 2019 School Board and Board of Count Supervisors  - Joint Capital Process Team Meeting
Wednesday, October 2, 2019  School Board Meeting
Wednesday, October 16, 2019  School Board Meeting
Monday,
October 28, 2019
 School Board and Board of Count Supervisors  - Joint Capital Process Team Meeting
Wednesday, November 6, 2019  School Board Meeting
 Wednesday, November 13, 2019 Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session)CANCELED
 Tuesday, November 19, 2019 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, December 4, 2019  School Board Meeting
Wednesday, January 8, 2020  School Board Meeting  CANCELED
Wednesday, January 15, 2020  WORK SESSION ONLY
Wednesday, January 22, 2020  School Board Meeting
Wednesday, January 29, 2020 Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) CANCELED
Wednesday, February 5, 2020  School Board Meeting
Monday, February 10, 2020  Public Meeting ONLY - Budget
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
 Disciplinary Hearing (Closed Session) CANCELED
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 

School Board Meeting 
Public Hearing - Budget

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Closed Sessions and Work Session - Budget
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 Closed Session
Work Session - Budget/CIP
Wednesday, March 18, 2020

School Board Meeting
Budget Adoption - *Please read update. Meeting details have changed. 

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 School Board Meeting
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 Special Closed Session Meeting (Superintendent's evaluation deferred to a future date)
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 School Board Meeting
Boundary Hearing

 

Citizens Comment Time

Individuals are invited to attend and become informed about the operation of Prince William County Public Schools, or address the Board during Citizens Comment Time. During the school closure, please check the meeting announcement for specific links and instructions on signing up for Citizens Comment Time.

All speakers must provide the School Board Clerk with their address and phone number in order to verify their residency and permit the Clerk to contact them if necessary. Upon request, the Clerk will not release to the general public the address and phone number of the speaker. However, such information may be requested under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Speakers must also identify the issue of public concern upon which they will be speaking. (View Policy 134)


Board Briefs

Board Briefs summarizes the actions taken by the School Board at each meeting. View Board Briefs.

Information & Links

School Board Meetings are on the first and third Wednesday* at 7 p.m. at the Edward L. Kelly Leadership Center, 14715 Bristow Rd., Manassas, VA 20112. Board members have dinner at 5 p.m. and hold a closed session at 6 p.m. prior to their open meetings. 

*Please note exceptions to the School Board Meeting Schedule in December 2018.

As soon as the School Board Agendas are released to Board members, they will be available online for the public. Agenda items and materials are subject to change up to the time of the meetings.

Public meetings are broadcast live on on PWCS-TV (Comcast Channel 18 and Verizon FiOS Channel 36) and can also be viewed live online on the PWCS-TV website. Archived meetings are available on YouTube and online at the PWCS-TV Video On Demand website.

Special meetings or work sessions are called when necessary to conduct school business and are announced in advance on the School Division’s Web site and through local news media. 

All School Board meetings, except closed sessions and Disciplinary Meetings, are open to the public.  

Closed sessions are held prior to the public meetings at 6 p.m. and are not open to the public. Items discussed in closed sessions are confined by law to personnel, student matters, acquisitions/disposition of real property, legal, and other specific matters exempted from open sessions under Virginia’s Freedom of Information Act.

Contact Information

Clerk to the School Board
P.O. Box 389
Manassas, VA 20108
Telephone: 703-791-8709
Email: pwcsclerk@pwcs.edu