Special Education Advisory Committee logo


The SEAC is organized and functions in accordance with state and federal requirements. The Committee's functions include the following:

  • Monthly meetings with Director of the Office of Special Education;
  • Determining needs of children with disabilities within the county;
  • Developing priorities and strategies for meeting identified needs of children with disabilities;
  • Prepare and submit an annual report to the Prince William County School Board.


The SEAC is composed of representatives selected by members of the School Board and the Superintendent of Schools. Members serve without compensation.  

To apply for SEAC membership click on the link to download the application. The completed application should be emailed to PWCSSEAC@pwcs.edu.

SEAC Membership Application (PDF).


The activities of the SEAC are governed by the State of Virginia’s Special Education Advisory Committee by-laws and the Prince William County Special Education Advisory Committee by-laws. Subcommittees are established to help conduct the work of the committee. Members are assigned or volunteer to serve on subcommittees. Department of Education staff members are available at each meeting, to provide technical assistance.


The SEAC meets in regular session eight (8) times a year, on the third (3rd) Tuesday of the month, at The Kelly Leadership Center. Each regular session consists of Public Comment, Director of Special Education Time, Member Time as well as New and Old Business. Public Comment begins at 7 p.m. Parents and guardians are invited to attend. Advance notice is not needed to speak during Public Comment. Call 703-791-7287 to confirm meeting location.

Public Notice


The Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) will meet on Tuesday, April 20, 2021, at 7 p.m. This meeting is held virtually.

The Annual Special Education Plan and Applications for Federal Funds will be presented to SEAC on April 20, 2021. On May 5, 2021, the plan will be presented to the Prince William County School Board. The School Board meetings begin at 6 p.m. in the School Board meeting room at Edward L. Kelly Leadership Center, 14715 Bristow Road, Manassas, VA 20112. Interested persons may attend these meetings or review a copy of the Plan at the Parent Resource Center, 703-791-8846, beginning April 21, 2021. Written comments should be forwarded no later than April 23, 2021, to Dr. Michelle M. Roper, Director, Office of Special Education, Prince William County Public Schools, P.O. Box 389, Manassas, VA 20108. All School Board and SEAC meetings are open to the public. You may contact any member to discuss your views on special education

2020-21 Meetings

Third Tuesday of each Month
7–9 p.m.
Kelly Leadership Center, Room 2002-2004

*Please be advised, that this schedule is subject to have meeting modifications. If there is a need to meet virtually, agendas and meeting links will be posted on this webpage.

Date Agenda & Minutes Meeting Information
August 18, 2020    
September 15, 2020    
October 20, 2020    
November 17, 2020    
December 15, 2020    
January 19, 2021    
February 16, 2021 Meeting Agenda (PDF) *Notice: This meeting will be held virtually. Please join the meeting through this link:
Join Zoom Meeting Here
Meeting ID: 923 7481 4793
Meeting Passcode: 576616
March 16, 2021  Meeting Agenda
*Notice: This meeting will be held virtually. Please join the meeting through this link:
Join Zoom Meeting Here
Meeting ID: 923 7481 4793
Meeting Passcode: 576616 
April 20, 2021    
May 18, 2021    


All School Board and SEAC meetings are open to the public. You may contact the Chairman, Jaime Van Echo at jayve.slp@gmail.com to discuss your views on special education.

SEAC Representatives

Kristie Bowie-Young
Superintendent Representative

Jaime Van Echo
Superintendent Representative

Yukiko Dove
At-Large Representative

Teacher Representative

Deborah Tekampe
Gainesville District Representative

Occoquan District Representative

Beverly Hicks
Brentsville District Representative

Shelly Witte
Woodbridge District Representative

Angela Comiskey
Neabsco District Representative

Brandi Workman
Potomac District Representative

Sarah Pitkin
Coles District Representative

Superintendent Representative

Superintendent Representative